Ambush at Cavern Cove 2009

May 03, 2021

During the first four days of October 2009, The North Alabama Regulators again played host to the Alabama State Championship of Cowboy Action Shooting with their annual Ambush at Cavern Cove. This was lucky number 13 for Ambush, which featured a theme pulled from the Clint Eastwood classic The Outlaw Josey Wales.

The Shooter’s Book featured some new additions that helps me write just a little more about the match. It also included two Ned targets!

We get a little insight into who was running the North Alabama Regulators in 2009. President-May Lillie, Vice President-Two Ponies, Territorial Governor-Marshal TKD, Stage Marshal- El Camino, Property Marshal- Hairtrigger Floyd, Awards Marshal- Ranger CAS, Treasurer-Lawman Mark, Secretary-Drake Robey, and Range Marshal- Alabama Hombre all worked tirelessly throughout the year to help direct the month-to-month operations of the club.

Several other volunteers, including Shez Lethal, Andrew Quigley, Granna, Diamond Deb, Buck D. Law, Uncle Frank, Sawyer, Grizzly Grady, Blue Wolf, and Huckleberry Moonshine helped with Ambush preparations and execution.

The stages, masterfully crafted by El Camino, harkened back to a simpler time. Sweeping five targets with your first and second pistol was a favorite pastime of many back then and featured three separate stages where you were able to do just that!

But, for many, Ambush 2009 was a somber, more subdued atmosphere with many mourning the relegation of the Secret Stage from main match to side match status. While some of the more tenured Ambush veterans were visibly moved to tears, others shouted for joy in the streets. Side matches also included Extreme Rimfire, a 22 Cal. Shooting, Long Range Rifle Big Bore Lever Action, Long Range Big Bore Single Shot, Long Range Rifle Pistol Caliber, 3 Stage Black Powder, 3 Stage Wild Bunch, Long Range Pistol, Speed Shotgun, Fastest 3 Gun, Speed Pistol, and Speed Rifle.

The overall men's winner and Alabama State Champion was Sidekick with The Ladies match winner being Dew R Dye. Overall match top 10 included Badlands Drifter, Tall Drink A Water, Prestidigitator, Tuff Stuff, Ozark Az, Fast Eddie, Harman Hammer, SA Pondwater, and Sunshine Billy.

We hope that you enjoy reading the Shooter’s Book from these matches from way back when and that they help stir up some memories for folks who were able to join us back then, so many years ago. We also hope that you are able to join us this fall, for the 25th Annual Ambush. We're bound to make even more this year, on The Firing Line.

More posts