Ambush at Cavern Cove 2010

May 17, 2021

With so many great westerns being shown in the 1950's and 60's, how do you choose just one to base your world-class match on? Well, when you ultimately cannot decide, you end up picking a handful of your favorites and you do 'em all!

Held September 30-April 3, the 2010 Ambush at Cavern Cove masterfully placed each competitor in their own tv serial celebrating A Fistful of TV Westerns. This 10.5 stage match showcased the very best westerns that TV had to offer as well as shooting in the Heart of Dixie.

Wait a second....10.5 stages??? What is that all about? Well, after much bemoaning of the end of the Secret Stage, it was decided that it would come back again in 2010. However, unlike the previous year where it was relegated to side match status, this year's Secret Stage would be an additional, unscored stage during the main match.

As you read through the shooter's book, I realize that some of the pages seem out of order. Not sure why the book was set up that way, either, but I noticed it, too. Stage 4 was a bit confusing, but I think that it only included 4 shotgun targets, not 11 as it was originally listed. Stage 9 did just include 5 shotgun targets.

Several new faces presided over the Regulators with President Lawman Mark, Vice President Two Ponies, Territorial Governor Marshal TKD, Stage Marshal El Camino, Property Marshal Lickskillet Charley, Awards Marshal Granna, Treasurer Shez Lethal, Secretary Drake Robey, and Range Marshal Cool Waters leading the way. Match committee Chairpersons included Shez Lethal, Andrew Quigley, Granna, Diamond Deb, Buck D. Law, Uncle Frank, Grizzly Grad, Two Ponies & Two Ponies Gal, and Huckleberry Moonshine.

This year's side matches included Speed Rifle, Speed Pistol, Speed Shotgun, Fastest 3 Gun, a 22 Shooting Gallery, and Cherokee Charlie's 22 Side Match. Other festivities during the weekend included a night shoot, and the Bobcat Sparks memorial poker tournament.

With all the goings on, I would be remiss if I did not mention that Sidekick would win his 5th Alabama State title that year.

More posts